Amit Shah forms 8-members committee to hold discussion with farmers

By Accommodation Times News Services

Amit ShahDue to the huge oppose from the framers’ organisations against the new amendments in the land acquisition Bill, the BJP President Amit Shah formed an eight-member committee to discuss the issues related to the Bill and sought their suggestions.

The eight-members committee comprises of seven party MPs, of which former Union Minister Satyapal Malik is the convener and a Chartered Accountant. They will hold meeting with the farmers and the organisations and discuss the issues.

The other members of the Committee are MPs Bhupender Yadav, Ram Narayan Dudi, Hukam Dev Narayan, Rakesh Singh, Sanjay Dhotre and Suresh Angadi, besides a chartered accountant Gopal Agarwal.

Several farmers’ organisations have voiced serious concerns on the proposed amendments in the bill, fearing that it will be detrimental to farmers’ interests. Home Minister Rajnath Singh has so far met with representatives of 27 such organisations and more meetings are slated.

Government is claiming that the amended bill to replace the land acquisition ordinance is “pro-farmer” but the opposition parties have termed it as “anti-farmer” and have opposed the move in both Houses of Parliament.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply