Andhra to have six more smart cities

Smart cities must benefit from latest advances in innovation U.S. envoyAccommodation Times News Service

Staff Reporter

In a move that can be termed as a self-starter, Andhra Pradesh state government is deciding to turn six more municipal towns into smart cities.

Unlike the cities of Kakinada, Tirupati and Visakhapatnam that have already been selected for the Smart City project of the Union government and are to be funded entirely by the Centre, upgrading of these recently state selected six municipal towns is likely to fall completely upon state’s shoulder.

The Chandrababu Naidu government has given green signal to convert central and southern coastal towns of Anantapur, Eluru, Ongole, Kurnool, Nellore and Srikakulam into smart cities.

The Smart city Awas Yojna mission which was green-lit by PM Narendra Modi in June, 2015 is an urban transformation program under which 109 cities throughout the nation have been selected in a bid to make them more sustainable and user friendly.

So far, a total of 980 billion has been approved by the center for rejuvenation and development of the nominated cities.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply