Biased Land Law behind Telangana agitation

By Accommodation Times Research

Dr Sanjay Chaturvedi

Since last 50 years, the region of Telangana is fighting for biased land and imposed levies and restrictions. The land revenue code since its early first five year plan, had deprived of Telangana region and unbiased rules as compared to Andhra region.

The Telangana region comprises 10 districts: Hyderabad, Adilabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal. The Musi River, Krishna and Godavari rivers flow through the region from west to east. Hyderabad and Warangal are two largest cities in Telangana region. Warangal city is accorded world heritage city by UNESCO in March 2013

Since Telangana was merged with Andhra state to form Andhra Pradesh state in 1956, there were several agitations in Telangana to invalidate the merger and to form Telangana state.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply