CII-IGBC Conference on Green Buildings to be held in Goa on 24th September 2011.

Honorable Chief Minister Mr. Digambar Kamat & Renowned experts take Green steps for a Greener India.

Goa: Goa Chief Minister Mr Digambar Kamat will inaugurate the “GREEN BUILDINGS FOR A GREEN GOA” Conference on Saturday, 24th September 2011 at BITS-PILANI, Goa-Campus.CII- IGBC, under the Chairmanship of Mr. Amar J. Britto, MD of the Acron Group, is hosting the conference with a vision to increase green buildings in the country.
Indian Green Building Council defines Green buildings as those which use less water, optimize energy efficiency, generate less waste and provide healthier spaces to their occupants compared to conventional buildings. The purpose of the Conference is to raise awareness among developers, architects, engineers, students, government and hoteliers about the green building movement and is expected to be widely attended.Eminent speakers will include Dr. Prem C. Jain Chairman-IGBC, Mr. Alwyn Noronha, Executive-VP Projects ITC Hotels Group, Mr. Nasser Munjee Economist, Architects-Mr. Prem Chandavarkar, Historic Building consultant Ms. Abha Narain Lambah, Mrs. Rita Mody-Joshi, LEED AP experts Ms. Priya Vakil and Mr. Selvarasu, domain experts like Mr. Sanjith Rodrigues – MD-GSIDC, Mr. Pankaj Joshi, Executive Director, Urban Development Research Institute (UDRI), Mr. S. T. Puttaraju – Chief-Town planner, Mr. Vishwanath Subramaniam expert on rain water harvesting, Mr. Bharat Kamat, Vice Chairman, IGBC Goa Chapter, Ms. Smarinita Shetty of the Monitor Group, wind energy expert Prof. Dr. Allan Rocha and many more. The agenda for the conference will include topics “Role of Government in increasing Green Buildings”, “Careers for young professionals in the GREEN industry”, “Green Design Beyond Ratings”, “Recycling Historic Buildings”, “How existing hotels can become greener and more economical to operate”. “Affordable and Green: Ways and Means of squaring the circle”. The event will be inaugurated by Honorable Chief Minister of Goa Mr. Digambar Kamat while the closing remarks will be by Opposition Leader Mr. Manohar Parrikar.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply