Karnataka sanctioned 31,424 more affordable houses for urban poor under PMAY(Urban)

venkaiah naiduBy Accommodation Times Bureau

Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation today approved construction of 1,17,814 more affordable houses for the benefit of urban poor in six States under the Prime Minister’s Awas Yojana (Urban) with a total investment of Rs.5,773 cr and with central assistance of Rs.1,816 cr.

Noting that urban housing mission is gaining momentum, Minister of HUPA Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu has asked the ministry officials to ensure that houses sanctioned are constructed quickly.

Karnataka has been sanctioned a total of 31,424 new houses in 234 cities and towns today including 30,247 under the Beneficiary Led Construction (BLC) component and 1,177 houses under Affordable Housing in Partnership component of PMAY (Urban). Total project cost approved in this regard was Rs.1,222 cr for which central assistance of Rs.518 cr has been approved. With this, total number of houses sanctioned for the State has increased to 1,46,466 so far.

Under BLC, the beneficiaries are allowed to build a house on the land owned by them or make improvements in the existing houses to have more living space and basic amenities while under AHP, State Government provides land for housing projects for urban poor. Under both these components, central assistance of Rs.1.50 lakh is provided to each beneficiary.

In Karnataka, Vijayapura has been sanctioned 1,250 houses followed by Mysore-1,161, Hospeta-744, Davanagere-696, Bellary-633, Chamarajanagar-570, Gadag-Betagiri-546, Harappanahalli-540, Chinchati-488, Shorapur-463, Kurugodu-459, Lakshmeswara-415, Chittapur-403, Nippani-349, Doddaballapura-281 and Devanahalli-272.

Kerala has been sanctioned  11,480 new houses for 19 cities under BLC component of PMAY (Urban) at a total cost of Rs.344 cr for which central assistance of Rs.170 cr will be provided. With this, total number of houses sanctioned for the State so far under PMAY(Urban) has gone up to 28,236.

Thiruvananthapuram has been sanctioned 1,397 houses followed by Koilandy-633, Ponnai-563, Neyyatinakara-500, Ottapalam-426, Guruvayur-394, Kottayam-335, Chittur-Thattamayalam-314, Varkala-261 and Koothuparamba-279.

Madhya Pradesh has been sanctioned 27,714 houses, Bihar-25,221, Jharkhand- 20,099 and Odisha-2,115 today taking the number of affordable houses being constructed under PMAY(Urban) to 17,60,507 with a total investment  of Rs. 96,018 cr for which central assistance of Rs.27,714 cr has been approved so far.

PMAY(Urban) was launched by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi on June 25, 2015 with the objective enabling decent homes for all poor urban households.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply