Madhya Pradesh gets 27,475 houses; Bihar-25,221, Jharkhand-20,099, Odisha-2,115 get affordable housing from PMAY

1512667_477471949028237_1421155411_nBy Accommodation Times Bureau

Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation today approved construction of 1,17,814 affordable houses for the benefit of urban poor in six States at a total cost of Rs.5,773 cr for which central assistance of Rs.1,816 cr has been approved, under the Prime Minister’s Awas Yojana (Urban).

Noting that affordable housing under PMAY(Urban) is gaining momentum, Minister of HUPA Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu has asked the Ministry officials to ensure that construction of sanctioned is taken up and completed quickly by the concerned City and State Governments.

Madhya Pradesh has been sanctioned a total of 27,475 new houses for 43 cities and towns at a total cost of Rs.1,713 cr for which central assistance of Rs.412 cr has been approved. These include 20,971 houses under Beneficiary Led Construction (BLC) component of PMAY(Urban) and 6,504 houses under Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP) component.

Under BLC, beneficiaries are assisted to build own houses on the land available with them or take up improvement works for increasing living space and other amenities. Under AHP, State Government provides the land to house urban poor. Under both these components, central assistance of Rs.1.50 lakh is provided for each beneficiary.

With today’s sanctions, Madhya Pradesh has so far been sanctioned 2,09,036 houses and is closely behind Tamil Nadu which is leading in implementation of PMAY(Urban) with the maximum of 2,27,700 houses sanctioned.

In Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal has been sanctioned 4,154 houses, Gwalior-3,120, Dhar-1,800, Khargone-2,012, Burhanpur-1,535, Gadarwara-1,366, Khandwa-1,162, Seoni-902, Dhanpuri-739, Balaghat-716, Biaora-693, Shahdora-691 and Dindori-685.

Bihar has been sanctioned 25,221 new houses for urban poor in 31 cities with a total investment of Rs.1,208 cr and with central assistance of Rs.378 cr under BLC component. With this, Bihar has so far been sanctioned a total of 88,254 affordable houses under PMAY(Urban).

Under today’s sanctions, Purnea has got 3,378 houses followed by Bihar Shariff-2,625, Kishanganj-2,490, Gaya-2,429, Madhubani-1,798, Sheohar-1,641, Jami-1,023, Benipur-1,016, Gogri Jamalpur-986, Raxaul-842 and warsaliganj-674.

Jharkhand has been sanctioned 20,099 new houses under Beneficiary Led Construction component of PMAY(Urban) in 36 cities with a total cost of Rs.728 cr and central assistance of Rs.306 cr. With this, total number of affordable houses sanctioned for the State under PMAY(Urban) has increased to 64,555 so far.

Ranchi has been sanctioned 2,668 houses followed by Deoghar-2,192, Dhanbad-1,905, Jhumi Taliaya-1,393, Lohardaga-1,099, Madhupur-1,292, Chas-1,249, Medininagar-867, Gumla-630 and Chaibasa-644.

Odisha has got 2,115 new houses sanctioned under BLC component of PMAY(Urban) for 8 cities with a total project cost of Rs.64.00 cr for which central assistance of Rs.32.00 cr has been approved. With this, total number of Affordable houses sanctioned for Odisha so far has increased to 48,845.

In today’s sanctions, Nabarangpur has got 230 houses followed by Purusottampur-226, karanjia-200, Ranpur-196, Chikite-180, Anandpur-152, Udala-150, Rambha-110 and Radhakol-107.

Karnataka has been sanctioned 31,424 houses and Kerala-11,480 houses for urban poor under PMAY (Urban).

With today’s approvals total number of houses being taken up for construction for the benefit of urban poor under PMAY(Urban) has gone up to 17,60,507 with total project cost of Rs.96,018 cr for which central assistance of Rs.27,714 cr has been approved.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply