MoHUA announces 9 new smart cities under Smart Cities Mission

smart-inner_mBy Accommodation Times Bureau


Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister of State for Housing & Urban Affairs on Friday, has announced nine new smart cities under Smart Cities Mission and taking its total number to 99 smart cities.

The newly nine cities added include, Erode (Tamil Nadu), Silvassa (Dadra & Nagar Haveli), Diu (Daman & Diu), Biharsharif (Bihar), Bareilly (Uttar Pradesh), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh), Saharanpur (Uttar Pradesh) and Kavaratti (Lakshadweep).

The 9 cities selected have proposed an investment of Rs 12,824 crores of which Rs 10,639 crores would be in Area-Based Development (ABD) and Rs 2,185 crores in Pan City initiatives which would be impacting 35.3 lakh persons living in these areas, he said.

Singh said, “These 9 Cities have approximately 409 projects,” the funding sources for these projects are proposed to be with; SCM – with contribution from State and Centre 61.25%, Convergence 24.19%, PPP 12.90%, Own sources 1.57%, and Other sources 0.09%, he further added.

With the selection of these nine cities, the total proposed investment in the 99 Smart City Mission would Rs 2,03,979 crores, Puri said.

Providing details of the progress made in Smart Cities, Shri Puri informed that “So far 85 out of 90 cities already selected have incorporated their SPVs and 61 Cities have procured PMCs; another 8 cities are in various stages of hiring their PMCs.”

The Ministry also announced the Liveability Index Programme in 116 cities.

Smart City Mission is setting a new benchmark in terms of project implementation. In the duration of 2 years, which is a small period in terms of urban development life-cycle, the mission is picking up momentum, he said.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply