Nitin Gadkari, 6 CM’s to ink MoU for development project worth over Rs 3,900 Cr

By Accommodation Times Bureau


Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways will sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Delhi and Himachal Pradesh in New Delhi on August 28 for the construction of the Rs. 3,966.51 crore Lakhwar Multi-Purpose project in the Upper Yamuna Basin.

The Lakhwar project envisages construction of a 204 m high concrete dam across river Yamuna near Lohari village in Dehradun district of Uttarakhand with a live storage capacity of 330.66 MCM. This storage will provide irrigation for 33,780 hectares land and availability of 78.83 MCM water for domestic, drinking and industrial use in the six basin states. The project will also generate 300 MW of power. The project is to be executed by  Uttarakhand Jal Vidyut Nigam Limited (UJVL).

Out of the total project cost of Rs. 3966.51 crore, the power component of Rs. 1388.28 crore will be borne totally by the Uttarakhand government. Uttarakhand will also get the benefit of total power generation once the project is complete.

Out of the remaining cost of Rs 2578.23 crore which forms the irrigation and drinking water components, 90% will be borne by the Centre (Rs 2320.41 crore) and 10% will be divided between the States of Haryana –Rs 123.29 crore (47.82%), Uttar Pradesh/ Uttarakhand -Rs 86.75 crore (33.65%), Rajasthan-Rs 24.08 crore (9.34%), NCT Delhi -Rs 15.58 crore (6.04%) and Himachal Pradesh -Rs 8.13 crore (3.15%).

Storage created as a result of the implementation of the Lakhwar project will be shared by the basin States in proportion to their overall annual allocations as given in the mother MoU signed between the six states on 12.05.1994. Allocation of water from storage created by Lakhwar Dam Reservoir will be regulated by UYRB as per this MoU. Except the sharing of stored water all other resultant economic benefits including generation of hydropower due to the construction of the dam are assigned to the State of Uttarakhand.

Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan and Delhi are the six Upper Yamuna Basin states. Upper Yamuna refers to the stretch of River Yamuna from its origin to the Okhla Barrage in Delhi. The six states had signed a Memorandum of Understanding on 12th May 1994 regarding the allocation of surface flow of River Yamuna.


Similar Articles

Leave a Reply