Now, govt plans 10 smart railway stations

rrmain_305_102116123722 - Copy

By Accommodation Times Bureau

Ten railway stations in Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Rajasthan and Kerala will be redeveloped as smart stations in a few years.

These stations -Tirupati, Sarai Rohilla (in Delhi), Nellore, Puducherry, Madgaon, Lucknow, Gomtinagar, Kota, Thane (New) and Ernakulam – will get iconic structures with modern state-of-the-art facilities, passenger lounges and congestion-free non-conflicting entry and exit to station premises. These will also have commercial space to set up business centre, offices, studio apartments and hotels.

In order to fast-track the process, Rail Land Development Authority(RLDA) and National Building Construction Corporation (NBCC) signed an MoU on Friday in the presence of railway minister Suresh Prabhu and urban development minister M Venkaiah Naidu. The railways has embarked on an ambitious project to redevelop 403 stations with the participation of private players, public sector entities and foreign agencies.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply