Property tax in municipal area’s levied in Haryana

By Accommodation Times News Services

taxHaryana state government declared property tax on buildings and land which are covered under municipal corporations. Gurgaon and Faridabad have been marked as A-1 cities by Haryana government notified property tax on October 4. As per, the methodology to calculate the tax, municipal corporations have been divided into two categories.

Where, Gurgaon and Faridabad have been kept in the top A-1 category, while A-2 cities include Ambala, Panchkula, Karnal, Panipat, Rohtak, Hisar and Yamuna nagar, the spokesman said. Those owning residential properties of up to 300 sq yard would have to pay Re one per sq yard in A-1 cities.

The other four categories of sizes from 301 sq yard to more than two acres would have to pay between Rs. 4 per sq yard and Rs 10 per sq yard, he said. Rates for commercial space of up to 1,000 sq yd would be Rs 12 per sq yd and for more than 1,000 sq yard, it would be Rs 15 per sq yard, he said, adding basements which are used exclusively for parking will be exempted from property tax.

A one time rebate of 30 per cent shall be allowed for those property owners who clear their arrears (up to 2012-13) within 45 days of the notification of rates. He said religious places, orphanage, central and state government office buildings and government hospitals would be exempted from payment of property tax.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply