Sattelite Towns : Lok Sabha

By Accommodation Times Bureau

The Minister of State for Urban Development, Shri Saugata Roy informed the Lok Sabha today that the Ministry of Urban Development is running a pilot scheme for Infrastructure Development in satellite town around mega-cities. The pilot scheme supports development of infrastructure facilities related to Solid Waste Management, Water Supply and Sewerage in the selected towns to channelize their future growth and ameliorate pressure on mega-cities. It also provides for implementation of reforms such as e-governance, property tax, double entry accounting, creation of barrier free built environment and energy & water audit.

The eight satellite towns identified for implementation of the scheme are Vikarabad (Andhra Pradesh), Sanand (Gujarat), Sonipat (Haryana), Kankapura (Karnataka), Vasai-Virar (Maharashtra), Sriperumbudur (Tamilnadu), Pilkhua (Uttar Pradesh) and New Town (West Bengal).

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply