Smart City Mission: Centre to reveal final list of smart cities by Jan-End

smart-inner_mBy Accommodation Times Bureau


By January-end, the Centre will declare the next set of 10 cities for funding under the Smart City Mission, said the top official.

The Authority aims to develop 100 smart cities under the scheme.

Under the Smart City Mission, at present 90 cities name has been announced by the Housing and Urban Affairs Ministry (MoHUA) and each city will get Rs 500 crore as central assistance for implementing projects.

According to Housing and Urban Affairs Secretary D S Mishra, “The process is on. We have received the proposals from the cities. Next 10 cities will be announced by January-end next year.”

An official said, five cities have not submitted their plans, whereas ministry has received proposals from 15 cities for the fifth and the final round of the mission.

Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Biharsharif (Bihar), Amravati (Maharashtra), Erode and Dindigul (Tamil Nadu), and Uttar Pradesh’s Moradabad, Meerut, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Rampur, Rae Bareli and Ghaziabad, these are some of the cities that have sent their proposals, said the official.

Silvassa (Dadra and Nagar Haveli), Kavaratti (Lakshadweep) and Diu (Daman and Diu) have also sent their proposals.

The cities which have not submitted their proposals under the scheme includes, Bidhannagar, Durgapur and Haldia in West Bengal, Shillong in Meghalaya and Greater Mumbai in Maharashtra, the official said.

The West Bengal government has already announced that it would not join the Centre’s Smart City programme.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply